USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Maritime Administration Announces First Centers of Excellence Designations for Domestic Maritime Workforce Training and Education

Wednesday, May 19, 2021

WASHINGTON – Today, the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Maritime Administration (MARAD) announced the designation of 27 Centers of Excellence for Domestic Maritime Workforce Training and Education (CoE). The CoE designation recognizes community colleges and training institutions that prepare students for careers in our nation’s maritime industry. These academic institutions are located in sixteen states and one U.S. territory. 

“Our collaboration with these institutions represents an important expansion of MARAD’s role in supporting maritime education and will help form pathways to good-paying American jobs in our nation’s maritime industry,” said U.S. Transportation Secretary Pete Buttigieg. 

MARAD may now start working with the designated institutions to enter into cooperative agreements to help advance recruitment of students and faculty, enhance facilities, award student credit for military service, and potentially receive assistance in the form of surplus equipment or temporary use of MARAD vessels. 

Authorized under the National Defense Authorization Act of 2018, the CoE program is designed to assist the maritime industry in gaining and sustaining a well-trained labor force while enhancing diversity and inclusion in the industry. 

“The CoE designations recognize the high standard of maritime education and training provided by the designated community and technical colleges and maritime training centers. These institutions play vital roles in our nation’s maritime industry by providing the training and skills students need to begin and advance careers afloat and ashore,” said Acting Maritime Administrator Lucinda Lessley.

Information regarding the CoE program and the application process was disseminated through Federal Register notices. Successful applicants include accredited community colleges, technical colleges, and maritime training centers under State supervision. A searchable, interactive map is available to provide information on each CoE designee. For additional information, please visit Centers of Excellence on the MARAD website.

A complete list of Center of Excellence designees follows:  


Alaska Maritime Education Consortium (AMEC) which include five universities: University of Alaska located in Fairbanks, AK, University of Alaska Southeast at Juneau located

in Juneau, AK, Alaska Vocational Technical Center (AVTEC) located in Seward, AK, University of Alaska Anchorage located in Anchorage, AK, and University of Alaska Southeast at Ketchikan located in Ketchikan, AK.


Mira Costa Community College District (MCCCD) located in Oceanside, CA.

Long Beach Community College District (LBCCD) located in Long Beach, CA.

Orange Coast College (OCC) located in Newport Beach, CA


Star Center (STAR) located in Dania Beach, FL.

College of the Florida Keys (CFK) located in Key West, FL.


West Kentucky Community and Technical College (WKCTC) located in Paducah, Kentucky.


Delgado Community College (DCC) located in New Orleans, LA.


Anne Arundel Community College (AACC) located in Arnold, MD.

MM&P Maritime Advancement, Training, Education, and Safety Program (MITAGS) located in Linthicum Heights, MD.

Community College of Baltimore County (CCBC) located in Baltimore, MD.


Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College (MGCCC) located in Perkinston, MS.

Hinds Community College (HCC) located in Raymond, MS.


Kingsborough Community College (KBCC) located in Brooklyn, NY.


Carteret Community College (CarteretCC) located in Morehead City, NC.

Cape Fear Community College (CFCC) located in Wilmington, NC.


Clatsop Community College (ClatsopCC) located in Astoria, OR.

Pacific Northwest Maritime Industries Education Alliance (PAC Maritime) located in Portland, OR.


Delaware County Community College (DCCC) located in Media, PA.


Community College of Rhode Island (CCRI) located in Warwick, RI.


San Jacinto Community College District (SJCCD) located in Pasadena, TX.


Mid-Atlantic Maritime Academy (MAMA) located in Norfolk, VA.

Tidewater Community College (TCC) located in Chesapeake, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach, VA.


Divers Institute of Technology (DIT) located in Seattle, Flagship Maritime LLC (Flagship) located in Tacoma, WA, MM&P Maritime Advancement, Training, Education and Safety Program (MITAGS) located in Seattle, WA, and Pacific Northwest Maritime Industries Education Alliance (PAC Maritime) located in Seattle and Mount Vernon, WA.


Northeast Wisconsin Technical College (NWTC) located in Green Bay, WI.


Guam Shipyard (GSY) located in Tamuning, GU.