USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Centers of Excellence (CoE) for Domestic Maritime Workforce Training and Education

The Secretary of Transportation, acting through the Maritime Administrator, may designate certain eligible and qualified training entities as Centers of Excellence for Domestic Maritime Workforce Training and Education (CoE). Centers of Excellence designations serve to assist the maritime industry in obtaining and maintaining the highest quality workforce.

The Maritime Administration (MARAD) developed the CoE Program to support maritime workforce training and education at designated CoEs, including efforts of the designees to admit additional students; recruit and train faculty; expand facilities; create new maritime pathways; and award students credit for prior experience, including military service.

MARAD developed a policy to provide interested parties with comprehensive agency guidance on how best to apply for CoE designation. During application acceptance periods, MARAD will review and consider all applications it receives and may contact applicants with questions to assist in reviewing their applications. The CoE Program is a voluntary program and, therefore, any eligible and qualified training entity is free to decide whether it wishes to participate in the program and apply for a CoE designation. 

The inaugural CoE designees were announced on May 19, 2021. The 2024 designees were announced on February 22, 2024.

You can discover more detailed information on each of the current CoE designees through our 2024 CoE Interactive Map.

Latest Updates

(2/22/24) Today, MARAD announced the designation of 32 Centers of Excellence (CoE) for Domestic Maritime Workforce Training and Education. The 2024 Center of Excellence designees consist of 50 maritime training locations in 44 cities across 17 states and Guam.

The complete list of the 2024 Center of Excellence designees follows:  

Alaska Maritime Education Consortium includes six academic institutions: 
•    Alaska Vocational Technical Center (AVTEC), Seward, AK; 
•    University of Alaska Fairbanks, Bristol Bay Campus, Dillingham, AK; 
•    University of Alaska Anchorage, Kodiak College, Kodiak, AK;
•    University of Alaska Anchorage, Kenai Peninsula College at Kachemak Bay Campus, Homer, AK; 
•    University of Alaska Anchorage, Prince William Sound College, Valdez, AK, and 
•    University of Alaska Southeast at Ketchikan, Ketchikan, AK. 

•    Long Beach Community College in Long Beach, CA.
•    MiraCosta Community College in Oceanside, CA.
•    Orange Coast College in Newport Beach, CA.

•    Star Center in Dania Beach, FL. 
•    College of the Florida Keys in Key West, FL.

•    West Kentucky Community and Technical College in Paducah, Kentucky.

•    Delgado Community College in New Orleans, LA.

•    Anne Arundel Community College in Arnold, MD. 
•    Calhoon MEBA Engineering School in Easton, MD.
•    Maritime Institute of Technology and Graduate Studies (MITAGS) in Linthicum Heights, MD. (additional location in Washington state)
•    Community College of Baltimore County in Baltimore, MD.
•    Seafarers Harry Lundenberg School of Seamanship in Piney Point, MD


Minnesota State Domestic Maritime Workforce Consortium (MSDMWC) includes three institutions:
•    Lake Superior College, Duluth, MN
•    St. Paul College, St. Paul, MN and
•    Minnesota State College Southeast, Winona, MN

•    Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Perkinston, MS.
•    Hinds Community College in Raymond, MS.

•    Carteret Community College in Morehead City, NC.
•    Cape Fear Community College in Wilmington, NC.

•    Clatsop Community College in Astoria, OR.

Pacific Northwest Maritime Industries Education Alliance (PAC Maritime) member: 
•    Portland Community College in Portland, OR.

•    Delaware County Community College in Media, PA.

•    Community College of Rhode Island in Warwick, RI.

•    Trident Technical College in North Charleston, SC.

•    San Jacinto College District (SJCD) in Pasadena, TX.

Hampton Roads Maritime Industries Education Alliance (HRMIEA) consists of two members:
•    Maritime Institute in Norfolk, VA
•    Old Dominion University in Norfolk, VA

Tidewater Community College (TCC), with three campuses:
•    Chesapeake Campus, Chesapeake, VA
•    Portsmouth Campus, Portsmouth, VA and
•    Virginia Beach Campus, Virginia Beach, VA

•    Divers Institute of Technology in Seattle, WA. 
•    Flagship Maritime LLC in Tacoma, WA.
•    Maritime Institute of Technology and Graduate Studies (MITAGS), Seattle, WA. (additional location in Maryland), 
•    Northwest School of Wooden Boat Building in Port Hadlock. WA, and 

Pacific Northwest Maritime Industries Education Alliance (PAC Maritime) consists of eight members (7 in WA and 1 in OR):
•    Skagit Valley Community College, Mount Vernon, WA.
•    North Seattle College, Seattle WA.
•    Seattle Central College, Seattle, WA
•    South Seattle College, Seattle, WA
•    Crawford Nautical Training, Seattle, WA
•    Peninsula College, Port Angeles, WA
•    Clark College located in Vancouver, WA

•    Northeast Wisconsin Technical College in Green Bay, WI.

•    Cabras Marine Corporation in Piti, GU
•    Guam Shipyard (GSY) in Tamuning, GU. 

Previous Actions

Federal Register Notices related to the Centers of Excellence Program: 


Gerard Wall, Centers of Excellence Program Manager, Maritime Administration, at or 202-366-7273.