USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

U.S Transportation Secretary Elaine L. Chao Announces New Members of Maritime Transportation System National Advisory Committee

Wednesday, April 24, 2019

WASHINGTON – U.S. Transportation Secretary Elaine L. Chao today announced the appointment of 29 members to the Maritime Transportation System National Advisory Committee (MTSNAC).  Established in 2010, the MTSNAC is made up of leaders from commercial transportation firms, trade associations, state and local public entities, labor organizations, academia, and environmental groups that advise the Secretary on policies to ensure that the marine transportation system can respond to projected trade increases.

“This advisory committee will help strengthen and modernize our nation’s maritime capabilities, as we work to improve our waterborne transportation systems and our country’s gateway ports.” said Secretary Chao. 

The MTSNAC is composed of members from public and private entities whose purpose is to guide the Secretary of Transportation on matters relating to marine transportation and its seamless integration with other segments of the transportation system.  This includes the viability of the U.S. Merchant Marine.  Committee members will serve two-year terms, with no more than two consecutive term re­appointments.  

“The insights, experience, and perspectives of these committee members are essential to federal transportation decision-making,” said Maritime Administrator Mark H. Buzby.  “The MTSNAC is a strategic resource needed to strengthen and re-energize the maritime industry, and I look forward to their bold ideas and strong recommendations.”

The Department strives to select dynamic individuals with in-depth knowledge of their respective industries or government sectors.  Members are nominated through a full and open process published in the Federal Register.

The members are:

  1. Mr. Gary Adams                           Walmart Inc.
  2. Mr. Lindsey Brock                        NE Florida Regional Transportation Commission
  3. Mr. David Cicalese                       International Longshoremen's Association
  4. Ms. Berit Eriksson                        Sailors' Union of the Pacific
  5. Mr. David C. Fisher                      Port of Beaumont, TX
  6. Mr. Joe Gasperov                          International Longshore and Warehouse Union
  7. Mr. John Graykowski                   Maritime Industry Consultants
  8. Mr. Daniel Harmon                       Texas Department of Transportation
  9. Mr. Jared Henry                            Hapag-Lloyd USA, LLC
  10. Capt. Robert Hughes                    Genco Shipping & Trading Limited
  11. Mr. Jim Kruse                               Texas A&M - Transportation Institute
  12. Mr. Paul C. LaMarre, III              Port of Monroe, MI
  13. Mr. Griff Lynch                            Georgia Ports Authority
  14. Mr. Brian Jones                             Nucor Corporation
  15. Mr. James Pelliccio                       Port Newark Container Terminal
  16. Mr. Bryan Ross                             Missouri Department of Transportation
  17. Mr. Gene Seroka                           Port of Los Angeles
  18. Mr. Scott Sigman                          Illinois Soybean Association
  19. Mr. Karl Simon                             Environmental Protection Agency
  20. Mr. Sean Strawbridge                   Port of Corpus Christi Authority
  21. Ms. Anne Strauss-Weider             North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority
  22. Mr. Andrew Strosahl                    The Lawrence Law Firm
  23. Mr. Jack Sullivan                          Matson Navigation Inc.
  24. Captain Richard Suttie                 Center for Homeland Defense & Security
  25. Mr. Augustin Tellez                      Seafarers International Union of North America
  26. Mr. Robert Wellner                       Liberty Global Logistics LLC
  27. Mr. Thomas Wetherald                 General Dynamics-NASSCO
  28. Ms. Lisa Wieland                          Massachusetts Port Authority
  29. Mr. Brian Wright                          Owensboro Riverport Authority