You are here

Cruise Vessel Security and Safety Act (CVSSA)

Maritime Administration Certification of Cruise Vessel Security and Safety Act Training Providers

Under the Cruise Vessel Security and Safety Act (CVSSA) of 2010 (Public Law 111-207), the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the U.S. Coast Guard (USCG), and the Maritime Administration (MARAD) cooperatively established model training standards covering crime prevention, detection, evidence preservation, and reporting of criminal activities in the international maritime environment. The Act allows MARAD to certify security and safety training providers who provide training consistent with the model standards. Under this MARAD certification program, organizations wishing to have their cruise vessel security and safety training programs certified by MARAD as consistent with the model standards may voluntarily submit their programs to MARAD for review. This voluntary certification program will assist organizations in ensuring the safety and security of cruise ship passengers traveling to and from American ports.

Please review the following information on how to become a MARAD Certified CVSSA Training Provider:

  • CVSSA Application and Submission Requirements - Click Here
  • CVSSA Frequently Asked Questions - Click Here
  • Certified CVSSA Training Provider Agreement - Click Here

View the List of Certified CVSSA Training Providers.

Contact Information
Questions or comments regarding this training certification program may be forwarded to CVSSA-MARAD@dot.gov. You may also contact Cameron Naron at (202) 366-1883.

Updated: Wednesday, October 30, 2019